ISO 45001:2018 Occupational Health & Safety (OH&S) Management System


Occupational safety and health (OSH), is a multidisciplinary field concerned with the safety, health and welfare of people at work.

ISO 45001 is an internationally recognized standard, which can be applied / implemented to any production or service industries. This standard can be uniformly applied to organizations of any size or description. It was drawn up by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), with an intent to set international requirements for Occupational Health and Safety Management System.

It prescribes controls over those activities that the organization carries out. Implementation of OHSMS will promote a safe and healthy work environment, through a framework that allows the organizations to identify and control its risk related to health and safety, improve legislative compliance and improve the overall OHS performance.

ISO 45001 follows the High-Level Structure of other ISO standards, such as ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015, which makes integration of these standards easier. The 2018 version is a 10-clause structure and has adopted P-D-C-A cycle, risk-based thinking and requirement to determine context of the organization. The goal of ISO 45001 is the reduction of occupational injuries and diseases, including promoting and protecting physical and mental health.

Evolution of ISO 45001 and Revision History

  • Year 1999 – BSI Group decided to adopt OHSAS 18001 (OHSMS) and OHSAS 18002 (guidance specification) as British standards.
  • Year 2007 – BS OHSAS 18001 was updated in particular to better reflect ILO-OSH guidelines and additionally, the “health” component of “health and safety” was given greater emphasis.
  • Year 2018 – Publication of the International Standard ISO 45001:2018 for Occupational Health and Safety Management System. BSI canceled its BS OHSAS 1800x standards and adopted the ISO standard as BS ISO 45001.

NOTE :Organizations that are certified to BS OHSAS 18001 can migrate to ISO 45001 by March 2021 if they want to retain a recognized certification.

Applicability (Which organizations can avail ISO 45001 certification??)

  • Manufacturing units
  • Service sector including Educational institutes, Hospitals and other service providing units
  • Trading units
  • Any other business units irrespective of nature of business, size and location.

Focus Points – ISO 45001:2018 Implementation

  • Identification of processes having hazards on environment
  • Formulating Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) Policy
  • Setting up OH&S Objectives
  • Hazards Identification and Risk Assessment (HIRA) study
  • Identification of significant hazards
  • Setting up system for documentation and records.
  • Legal compliance
  • OH&S programmes
  • Creating environmentally responsible organization

Benefits of ISO 45001:2018 implementation to the organization

  • Establishment of occupational health and safety system
  • Safety and Welfare of team members
  • Cultural improvement with respect to Health and Safety
  • Reduction in Risk of Non-Compliance related to Legal and Statutory Requirements
  • Reduction in Risk of injuries and accidents at the workplace
  • Satisfaction and Retention of Valuable Customers
  • Good Marketing Tool and Credibility in Overseas Business.
  • Status of Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) responsible organization

ISO 45001:2018 Implementation Process by PQSmitra

The effective system implementation to safeguard employee’s health and safety in addition to successful certification is the prime focus by PQSmitra. ISO 45001 implementation help organizations to reduce the chances of injuries and accidents at the workplace. The value adding approach by PQSmitra Team has supported hundreds of clients to achieve ISO 45001 certification without any difficulty. The implementation process is described below:

  • Initial visits and review of the existing operational processes
  • Identification of various operational hazards and risks
  • Hazard identification and Risk assessment (HIRA) to find out significant hazards
  • Creating OH&S programmes
  • Training and Hand holding/ support for implementation
  • Internal audit for verification of implemented system
  • Management review
  • Certification audit – Stage 1 and Stage 2
  • Closure of non-conformities
  • Rewarding the certificate to the organization

ISO 45001:2018 Reference Standards

  • BS OHSAS 18001:2007 – British Standard for occupational health and safety management systems
  • ISO/IEC TS 17021-10:2018 is a technical specification setting out competence requirements for auditing and certification of ISO 45001

Looking for a Expert Business Consultant?